New Vinyl Releases 7/28/17



  • Alice Cooper – Paranormal (Indie Exclusive on Red Vinyl)
  • Arcade Fire – Everything Now (Night Version) (Blue Vinyl) and (Day Version) (Standard)
  • Atheist – Unquestionable Presence (1991) (Ultra Clear Vinyl, Ltd. to 200)
  • Atheist – Piece Of Time (1989) (Ultra Clear Vinyl, Ltd. to 200)
  • Byzantine – The Cicada Tree (2LP w/ Etched D-Side)
  • The Cars – Candy-O (1979) (2LP Expanded Edition Reissue w/ Etched D-Side and Unreleased Material)
  • Dua Lipa – Dua Lipa
  • Evergreen Terrace – Wolfbiker
  • Joe Henderson featuring Alice Coltrane – The Elements (1974)
  • Iron Maiden – En Vivo!
  • Iron Maiden – Flight 666
  • Iron Maiden – Death On The Road
  • Juillette Johnson – All I Ever See In You Is Me
  • The Kinks – One For The Road (Ltd. Ed. Anniversary Pressing on Pink Vinyl w/ Poster)
  • Diana Krall – The Very Best Of
  • The La’s – The La’s (1990)
  • Manchester Orchestra – A Black Mile To The Surface (2LP W/ Etched D-Side)
  • Martin Rev – Demolition 9
  • James Vincent McMorrow – True Care
  • Kate Nash – Made Of Bricks
  • Pet Shop Boys – Nightlife (1999)
  • Pet Shop Boys – Fundamental
  • Rings Of Saturn – Ultu Ulla (Indie Exclusive on Solid Yellow Vinyl, Ltd. to 300)
  • Rise Against – Wolves
  • Saint Vitus – Lillie: F-65 (Ultra Clear Vinyl, Ltd. to 250)
  • Sun Ra & His Solar Arkestra – The Magic City (1966)
  • Tradition – Captain Ganja And The Space Patrol (1980)
  • Umphrey’s McGee – Hall of Fame: Class of 2016 (Orange Vinyl)
  • Various – The Rough Guide To bottleneck Blues
  • Various – The Rough Guide To Blues Women
  • Various – Big Little Lies (Music From The HBO Limited Series)
  • Various – Late Night Tales: BadBadNotGood (2-LP Compilation of influential tracks from their personal record collections)
  • Wolfheart – Winterborn
  • Brenton Wood – Baby You Got It (1967)
  • Brenton Wood – Oogum Boogum (1967)

New Arrival: Phillip Lewin’s “Am I Really Here All Alone” Finally gets a Reissue


Phil Lewin’s homespun debut is a loner folk masterpiece; accidentally psychedelic, lit by heartbreak and timeless in its sadness and hope. – Jeff Conklin, WFMU

In his own words, today:

In 1967 I began my life in the student union of a university. In other words, I was in school. But, classes definitely took a back seat to people-watching and attempts at relationships. I would not say that I was particularly good at the latter, but I made a great observer. I even stayed near the school community for an extra year until an opportunity came up to move in with friends in Toronto, Canada, which turned out to be a pivotal opportunity for me.

I was once told that one should first write about one’s own experiences, then, expand to documenting the observed experiences of those around, and, finally write about what one imagines. Am I Really Here All Alone? encompasses all of the above. Something else I realized in writing lyrics is that sometimes it is good to be transparent about the meaning and others times, not so much. “Unusual Day” is an example of me being honest struggling to develop and maintain a relationship, but ultimately realizing it was not going to succeed. “Watercolours” documents a crushing experience, but is couched in metaphor. I hope that listeners will relate through their own experiences, and because my reality is implied, not specified, will not be limited to mine. “Sweet Georgia” is an example of me, as a writer, leaving my personal space. I think of it as an attempt to clone William Faulkner to Bobbie Gentry. “The Magic Within You” is actually a commission where I was asked to write a song for a benefit to be performed by Doug Henning, the groundbreaking stage magician and friend. I once heard John Prine complain that there was no point in writing a ‘train song’ because Steve Goodman had already written the perfect one with “City of New Orleans”. Naturally, I had to write “Back Home, To You”, my idea of a train song where I tried to capture the movement of the train in the rhythm of the guitar. As for the other six songs, to me, they all reflect realities, experienced, observed and imagined. Descartes said, “I think, therefore I am.” However my question is, “Am I Really Here All Alone?”

-Philip Lewin, 2017

Interested in purchasing the vinyl? Shuga Records has the 2017 Tompkins Square Reissue available on their website here.


Win a 3 Day Pass to Levitation Chicago!!!

1) Buy records. 2) Get Tickets. 3)???? 4) Profit

Get ready to freak out this March. Levitation Chicago recently announced the line-up for the 2016 psych festival at Thalia Hall and it is packed to the gills with killer acts. We here at Shuga can’t even decide what day to pick. Luckily, you might not have to pick one day over any other. Starting today, you can enter a chance to win a free 3-day pass to the festival by purchasing a record of any of the bands performing! AND THERE’S NO LIMIT TO YOUR NUMBER OF ENTRIES!!! Get.Stoked.

Here is a list of the releases that we have at the moment. Swing by soon, snag some noisy psych, turn it up, and cross your fingers.

  • Lightning Bolt – Fantasy Empire
  • Chelsea Wolfe – Abyss
  • Chelsea Wolfe – Apokalypsis
  • Chelsea Wolfe – The Grime and the Glow
  • Oneohtrix Point Never – Garden of Delete
  • Oneohtrix Point Never – R Plus Seven
  • Oneohtrix Point Never / Rene Hell – Split LP
  • Ryley Walker – All Kinds of You
  • Ryley Walker – Primrose Green
  • Blanck Mass – Dumb Flesh
  • Circuit des Yeux – In Plain Speech
  • Natural Information Society & Bitchin’ Bajas – Automaginary
  • Bitchin Bajas – s/t

UPDATE: This offer is no longer available. See you at the fest!